The Barnett Cohen Award

Presented to a professional microbiologist in recognition of their contributions, devotion, and interest in promoting the science of microbiology. This award was established in memory of Dr. Cohen in 1954. Dr. Cohen was president of the Branch in 1942, and president of the national society in 1950.

The Richard S. Schwalbe Award

Presented to an outstanding bench microbiologist, who possesses those professional qualities embodied by Rick Schwalbe: superior performance in clinical microbiology, willingness to train and share knowledge, scientific curiosity, and a constant striving for excellence. This award was established in 2000 to honor the memory of Dr. Richard S. Schwalbe, former president of the Maryland Branch of ASM.

The J. Howard Brown Award

Presented to an outstanding graduate and undergraduate student who is making a contribution worthy of recognition in the field of microbiology.  This award was established in memory of J. Howard Brown in 1954.

Please reload


To nominate someone, please fill out the form below completely.  


ASM Maryland Branch Officer Nominations

If you know someone you think should be considered for an officer of the ASM Maryland Branch, please complete this form and they will be reviewed by the board.  Thank you!

Please reload